Succesives Memberships

Former country of Brabant, castellany of Ath,
In 1789 : county of Hainaut / department of Jemappes / canton of Lombise / diocese of Cambrai,
In 1795 : diocese of Tournai,
In 1815 : deanery of Lens,
In 1858 : Province of Hainaut/ administrative and judicial district of Mons / justice of the peace canton of Lens / deanery of Lens / diocese of tournai,

In 1977 : Following the merger of the communes, Montignies lez Lens, as well as the communes of Cambron Saint Vincent, Bauffe and Lombise merge with Lens to form the commune Lens which currently has more than 4,400 inhabitants.